Słubice - Poland


Słubice is situated in the southwestern part of the Polish »Wojewodschaft« (an administrative government are) Lubuskie on the right hand embankment of the Oder. Until the end of the Second World War, Slubice was part of Frankfurt (Oder) an embankment suburb. It has been an autonomous Polish town since 1945. Because of its advantageous location on the border, Slubice is an important centre for trade and the service industry. The three main border crossings into Poland are located in this parish. The establishment of the Collegium Pollonicum, which is like the towns calling card, created a modern teaching and research facility which is funded through a joint venture of the Adam-Mickiewicz University in Poznan and the Europa Universitt »Viadrina« in Frankfurt. Even before the Second World War, Frankfurts recreation area lay east of the river Oder. These days again, many visitors come to Slubice, which is earmarked by its many parks and its interesting surroundings. Especially hobby anglers, hunters, hikers, and cycle and water sport enthusiasts will find plenty of opportunities for their hobbies in this area. There are a few lakes near the town. Hobby sailors, surfers and canoeists will find optimal conditions for their sport. The sport and recreation centre, with its large stadium that was opened in 1926, is home to football and tennis courts, a shooting range and an open-air swimming pool.



 


 

Gorzw Wlkp. - Poland


Gorzw Wlkp. (Landberg an der Warthe), the green town of western Poland, is situated in Polands mid west. The town is an important administrative, economical and cultural centre. It is the capital of the Wojewodschaft (administrative government area) Lubuskie and seat of the Wojewoden (head of administration). The town has 126,000 inhabitants. There are six further education establishments. Gorzw is the economic centre of the region. The town is characterised through its well-developed industries, especially the chemical and textile industry, mechanical engineering, woodworking industry and farming and food wholesale. 12 public parks with a square footage of about 128 ha, as well as many other green areas, turn Gorzw into the centre of the »Grne Lunge« (lit. green lung) in Poland and make it an excellent base for tourist excursions. In the surrounding areas around the town there are lakes, rivers, woods, country parks and nature reserves. Culturally, the town has also a lot to offer. The Minster, the »St Antonius-Kirche«, the old storehouse, the museum as well as many town villas are worth a visit. It is also rewarding to visit such interesting events, such as the »Tage von Gorzw« (lit. Gorzw days), the international Bach piano competition, the Pommeranian Jazz autumn, the biannual exhibition of sacral art, the international meeting of gypsy ensembles »romane Dyvesa«, the folklore festival or the theatre confrontations.

 

 


 

Heilbronn - Germany


The City of Heilbronn, a former imperial city at the river Neckar, is the main administrative area of the Franken region. The town is one of the largest, German vineyard parishes and a centre of industry, commerce and trade. In 741 Heilbronn is mentioned for the first time as a trade town, in the kings courts records. Heilbronn is an economically successful town with a high quality of life. Geographically exact in the centre of Europe and at the intersection of two major motorways, six railway lines and the European waterway of the river Neckar, Heilbronn is distinguished through its favourable location. The town lies in the romantic Neckar valley and offers a varied cultural programme, for example in the modern town theatre, the three museums and the art gallery. Diverse events, markets and festivals guarantee entertainment to its visitors. »Deutschlands gemtlichstes Weindorf« (lit Germanys most homely wine village) expects around a quarter million visitors every year in September. An excellent international gastronomy and the pedestrian area with street cafs invite visitors to stroll and linger. Numerous castles along the »Burgenstrasse« (a tourist route alongside Germanys many castles), depicting the flourishing Middle Ages, runs right through Heilbronn.

 

 


 

Nimes - France


Nimes in the south of France is well known to travellers and art historians because of its well-preserved buildings of the antiquity. In the old part of the town, a conservation area, you can quite easily combine sightseeing and shopping. Museums, libraries, theatre, various concerts, as well as sporting events fill up the cultural calendar over the year. But the main event is »Feria«, a town festival Spanish style, with bullfighting but mainly with lots of music. Vineyards and fields for the vegetable and fruit farming surround Nimes. It is also a University town, with 3000 students. There is a roman amphitheatre in Nimes. These days it houses various sporting and cultural events in front of up to 23,000 people. Near Nimes is the Point du Gard, a world famous bridge. It is the highlight of a 50 kilometre long Roman aqueduct. Tourism is very important for Nimes economy. The proximity to the Mediterranean Sea with its fine white sandy beaches, the largest yacht harbour in Europe only 30 kilometres away and the nearby wooded mountain range of the Cevennes attract uncountable tourists throughout the year.

 

 


 

Witebsk - Belarus


Witebsk was founded in 974 by Princess Olga and is situated in the northeast of Belarus, on the intersection of the routes from the West into Russia, from Russia to the Baltic States, and from St Petersburg to Odessa. Witebsk is a town of science and culture. There are two Universities, a Veterinary School and a Medical School. From the many cultural establishments we shall only mention the Belarus dramatic theatre »Jakub Kolas«. Museum and birth place document life and works of Marc Chagall (1887 1985), who was born in Witebsk. Historic cultural places of interest include the town hall (1775), the »Maria-Verkndungskirche« (St Mary Proclamation Church) from the 12th century and the »Kasarnerkirche« (Kasarn church) (1760). Witebsk is home to jazz festivals, as well as the festival of modern choreography. Worldwide successes of the Gymnastics, trampoline, acrobatics, boxing and biathlon schools are a testimonial to Witebsks sporting history. Popular are also sporting disciplines such as wrestling, judo and cycling. The new ice ring features clubs for hockey and ice-skating. In the towns picturesque surroundings there are recreational homes, sanatoriums and holiday camps for children.

 

 


 

Kadima-Zoran - Israel


Kadima is a inconspicuous town, in the middle of a small strip between the Mediterranean Sea and the West Bank. Kadima was founded in 1932 from a small settlement of immigrants from over 65 countries, especially from Germany, Russia, Iran, Syria, Egypt, Turkey and Marocco. In the last few years the town has also become a home to more than 1000 Russian immigrants. But growth of the town can also be explained through the influx of population from the surrounding larger towns of Tel Aviv and Netauga, as a suburb for people working there. The town mainly lives on farming export: strawberries, oranges, olives and vegetables. Its current economy is dominated by a packaging factory for vegetables, as well as some retail. The industrial area, as well as residential areas are being expanded. The focus of public life is the cultural centre, which offers many varied events for all age groups. A swimming pool, childrens nurseries, schools and centres for pensioners dominate the social infrastructure. There are many attractive places that you visit from the historically rich region of Kadima. There is Jerusalem, the oldest town in the world, Nazareth, Haika and Akko at the coast of the Mediterranean Sea as well as the Golan Heights.

 

 


 

Vantaa - Finland


Vantaa is Finlands fourth largest town and is situated quite near the Finnish capital of Helsinki. Vantaa is distinguished by growing industrial areas in well-balanced combination with residential areas and untouched nature. The towns recorded history begins in 1351. An interesting combination of tradition and modernisms, Vantaa can be called a city of contrasts, architecturally. Here you can find a stone church from the 13th century, an 18th century village idyll and a highly modern cityscape right next to each other. A good example for the futuristic environment is Heureka, a building that has won many architectural awards and which presents science »hands on«. You can enjoy cultural entertainment in one of the many concert halls in Vantaa and the town is also home to the Finlands largest musical schools. Vantaa is also a great place for many sporting activities. You can experience Vantaas wonderful surroundings on the many cycle and nature paths. There are five indoor swimming pools, many lovely lakes, which are not too far away, and the Baltic See with its many islands close to the coast, offers many recreational possibilities. In the winter you will find cross-country runs for skiing and well looked after ice rinks. The proximity of the town to Helsinki presents even more cultural and sportive offers.

 

 


 

Yuma - USA


Yuma is situated at the confluence of the rivers Colorado and Gila, near the border to Arizona only about 25 miles north of Mexico. Since 1540 Europeans have crossed the Colorado here, outposts and missionaries were established, and forts protected the settlements in Arizona and New Mexico. For more than centuries Yuma presented the portal to the new western worlds of California. In the historical museum, on the former prison grounds the eventful past is illustrated through special tours. Excursions down the rivers on jet boats or on a historic steamboat, mountain biking or gold digging the recreational possibilities are endless. The historic older part of the town invites to a shopping spree. The towns conference centre is one of the extensive sport and recreation establishments in the area, with a golf course, tennis courts and a baseball stadium. Yuma is especially interesting for tourists, through the ability to combine the visit with visits to California and Mexico. Large parts of Yuma are desert areas with rocky mountain ranges. In the valleys there is fertile farmland the basis for very successful farming with several crops per year, as well as the cattle farming. There are industrial areas for light and heavy engineering, and administration and service centres allow flourishing trade and the economic success of the Yuma region.

Słubice - Polen

Die Stadt Słubice liegt im südwestlichen Teil der polnischen Wojewodschaft Lubuskie am rechten Ufer der Oder. Bis zum Ende des 2. Weltkrieges war das heutige Słubice ein Vorort von Frankfurt (Oder), die Dammvorstadt. Als selbständige polnische Stadt existiert Słubice seit 1945. Durch seine günstige Lage an der Grenze ist Słubice ein wichtiges Handels- und Dienstleistungszentrum. Auf dem Territorium der Gemeinde liegen die drei größten Grenzübergänge an der Westgrenze Polens. Mit dem Collegium Polonicum entstand quasi als Visitenkarte von Słubice eine moderne Wissenschafts- und Begegnungsstätte, die gemeinsam von der Adam-Mickiewicz- Universität Poznan und der Europa-Universität “Viadrina“ Frankfurt (Oder) getragen wird. Bereits vor dem 2. Weltkrieg lag das Naherholungsgebiet für die Frankfurter östlich der Oder. Auch heute kommen viele Besucher in die Stadt, die durch viele Grünanlagen und eine interessante Umgebung gekennzeichnet ist. Besonders Angler, Jäger, Wanderer, Fahrrad- und Wassersportliebhaber kommen auf ihre Kosten. In der Nähe der Stadt gibt es einige Seen. Segler, Windsurfer und Paddler finden hier hervorragende Bedingungen für ihren Sport. Das Sport- und Freizeitzentrum mit seinem großen, 1926 eröffneten, Stadion, verfügt darüber hinaus über Fußball und Tennisplätze, Schießstände und ein Freiluftschwimmbad.



 


 

Gorzw Wlkp. - Polen

Gorzw Wlkp. (Landsberg an der Warthe), die grüne Stadt Westpolens, liegt im mitteleren Westen Polens. Sie ist ein wichtiges Verwaltungs-, Wirtschafts- und Kulturzentrum, Hauptstadt der Wojewodschaft Lubuskie und Sitz des Wojewoden. Gorzw ist mit 126 000 Einwohnern das wirtschaftliche Zentrum der Region. Die Stadt ist gekennzeichnet durch eine entwickelte Industrie, vor allem Chemie-, Textilindustrie, Maschinenbau, holzverarbeitende Industrie und Land- und Nahrungsgüterwirtschaft; sechs Hochschulen sind hier angesiedelt. 12 Parks mit einer Fläche von insgesamt 128 ha sowie viele Grünanlagen sind kennzeichnend für Gorzow als Zentrum der „Grünen Lunge“ Polens; sie machen die Stadt auch für Touristen attraktiv. In der Umgebung Gorzws findet man viele Seen, Flüsse, Wälder, Landschaftsparks und Naturschutzgebiete. Auch im kulturellem Bereich hat die Stadt viel zu bieten. Sehenswert sind der Dom, die St. Antonius-Kirche, der Speicher, das Museum sowie viele Villen. Es lohnt sich auch, solche interessanten Veranstaltungen wie die „Tage von Gorzw“, den Internationalen Bach-Klavier-Wettbewerb, den Pommerschen Jazz-Herbst, die Biennale der Sakralen Kunst, das Internationale Treffen der Zigeunerensembles „Romane Dyvesa“, das Folklorefestival oder die Theaterkonfrontationen zu besuchen.

 

 


 

Heilbronn - Deutschland

Die Stadt Heilbronn, ehemalige freie Reichsstadt am Neckar, liegt im Oberzentrum der Region Franken. Die Stadt ist eine der größten deutschen Weinbaugemeinden und ein Zentrum von Industrie, Handel und Gewerbe. Im Jahre 741 wurde Heilbronn erstmals am fränkischen Königshof urkundlich als Handelsstadt erwähnt. Heilbronn ist eine Stadt mit großer Wirtschaftskraft und hoher Lebensqualität. Geographisch exakt im Herzen Europas und am Schnittpunkt zweier Autobahnen, von sechs Schienenstrecken und der europäischen Wasserstraße Neckar gelegen, zeichnet sich Heilbronn durch besondere Standortgunst aus. Die Stadt liegt im romantischen Neckartal und bietet ein breites kulturelles Angebot, z.B. im modernen Stadttheater, in den drei städtischen Museen und in der Kunsthalle. Abwechslungsreiche Veranstaltungen, Märkte und Feste garantieren den Besuchern kurzweilige Unterhaltung. „Deutschlands gemütlichstes Weindorf“ erwartet alljährlich Mitte September über eine viertel Million Besucher. Eine hervorragende internationale Gastronomie und Fußgängerzonen mit Straßencafes laden den Gast zum Bummeln und Verweilen ein. Zahlreiche Burgen und Schlösser entlang der durch Heilbronn führenden „Burgenstraße“ lassen das blühende Mittelalter für den Besucher wieder lebendig werden.

 

 


 

Nimes - Frankreich

Das südfranzösische Nmes ist Reisenden und Kunsthistorikern vor allem wegen seiner sehr gut erhaltenen Bauwerke aus der Antike bekannt. In der unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Altstadt lassen sich Stadtbesichtigung und Einkaufsbummel ganz einfach miteinander verbinden. Museen, Bibliotheken, Theater, Konzerte aller Art, aber auch sportliche Ereignisse sorgen für einen das ganze Jahr ausgefüllten Veranstaltungskalender. An erster Stelle steht die „Feria“, ein wahres Volksfest nach spanischem Vorbild mit Stierkämpfen und vor allem viel Musik. Nmes ist umgeben von Weinbergen und Feldern für den Gemüse- und Obstanbau. Sie ist eine Universitätsstadt mit 3000 Studenten. In Nmes gibt es ein sehr gut erhaltenes römisches Amphitheater. Heute finden dort die verschiedensten sportlichen und kulturellen Veranstaltungen vor bis zu 23.000 Zuschauern statt. In der Nähe von Nmes befindet sich der Pont du Gard, eine weltberühmte Brücke. Sie ist das Prachtstück einer 50 km langen römischen Wasserleitung. Für die Wirtschaft von Nmes spielt der Tourismus eine herausragende Rolle. Die Nähe des Mittelmeers mit feinsten Sandstränden, der größte Jachthafen Europas in nur 30 km Entfernung, die nahegelegenen bewaldeten Berglandschaften der Cevennen ziehen alljährlich unzählige Besucher an.

 

 


 

Witebsk - Weißrussland

Witebsk wurde im Jahre 974 von der Fürstin Olga gegründet und liegt im Nordosten von Belarus, im Schnittpunkt der Wege von Westen nach Russland, von Russland ins Baltikum und von Sankt Petersburg nach Odessa. Witebsk ist die Stadt der Wissenschaft und Kultur. Hier gibt es zwei Universitäten, eine Veterinärakademie und eine Medizinische Hochschule. Von den vielen kulturellen Einrichtungen soll hier nur das Belorussische Dramatische Theater „Jakub Kolas“ genannt werden. Das Leben und Werk des in Witebsk geborenen Marc Chagall (1887-1985) dokumentieren Museum und Geburtshaus des Künstlers. Zu den historisch-kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten gehören u.a. das Rathaus (1775), die Maria -Verkündigungs-Kirche aus dem 12. Jh. und die Kasaner Kirche (1760). In Witebsk finden Jazzfestivals sowie das Festspiel der modernen Choreographie statt. Das internationale Kunstfestival „Slawischer Basar“ ist ein wichtiges Kulturfest in Europas. Von der guten Sporttradition in Witebsk zeugen die weltweiten Erfolge der Gymnastik-, Trampolin-, Akrobatik-, Box- und Biathlonschulen. Auch Disziplinen wie Ringen, Judo und Radsport werden hier überaus erfolgreich betrieben. Im neuen Eispalast findet neben Hockey auch Eiskunstlauf statt. In der malerischen, seenreichen Umgebung der Stadt befinden sich Erholungsheime, Sanatorien und Kinderferienlager.

 

 


 

Kadima-Zoran - Israel

Noch ist Kadima eine eher unscheinbare Stadt, inmitten des schmalsten Streifens zwischen dem Mittelmeer und der Westbank. Kadima entstand 1932 aus einer Siedlung von Einwanderern aus mehr als 65 Ländern, vor allem aus Deutschland, Russland, Iran, Syrien, Ägypten, Türkei und Marokko. In den letzten Jahren hat die Stadt über 1000 russische Aussiedler integriert. Das Wachstum der Stadt erklärt sich aber auch durch die Zuwanderung aus den umliegenden größeren Städten wie Tel Aviv und Netauga, als Wohnort für dort Beschäftigte. Die Stadt lebt hauptsächlich von der landwirtschaftlichen Exportproduktion von Erdbeeren, Apfelsinen, Oliven sowie Gemüse. Eine Verpackungsfabrik für Gemüse sowie Kleingewerbe bestimmen die gegenwärtige Wirtschaft. Ein Gewerbegebiet und preiswerte Wohnansiedlungen werden ausgebaut. Mittelpunkt des gesellschaftlichen Lebens ist das Kulturzentrum, das für alle Altersgruppen vielfältige Veranstaltungen anbietet. Ein Schwimmbad, Kindergärten und Schulen sowie ein Seniorenzentrum bestimmen die soziale Infrastruktur. Von der geschichtsträchtigen Region Kadima aus können attraktive Ausflugziele besucht werden. Besonders empfehlenswert sind Jerusalem, die älteste Stadt der Welt Nazareth, Haika und Akko an der Mittelmeerküste sowie die Golanhöhen.

 

 


 

Vantaa - Finnland

Das in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zur finnischen Hauptstadt Helsinki gelegene Vantaa ist Finnlands viertgrößte Stadt. Wachsende Gewerbegebiete in ausgewogener Kombination mit Wohngegenden und unberührter Natur zeichnen die Stadt Vantaa aus. Die geschriebene Geschichte von Vantaa beginnt 1351. Als interessante Kombination aus Tradition und Neuzeit kann man Vantaa architektonisch zu Recht als Stadt der Gegensätze bezeichnen. Hier existieren nebeneinander eine trutzige Steinkirche aus dem 13. Jh., das Dorfmilieus aus dem 18. Jh. und eine hochmoderne Stadtlandschaft. Ein Musterbeispiel für ein Zukunftsmilieu ist das mehrfach für seine Architektur prämierte Heureka, das auf unterhaltsame Art Wissenschaften zum Anfassen präsentiert. Zahlreiche Konzerträume laden zum Kulturgenuß ein. Hier befindet sich auch die größte Musiklehranstalt des Landes. Vantaa bietet hervorragende Bedingungen für vielerlei sportliche Aktivitäten. Die schöne Natur der Stadt kann man auf zahlreichen Naturlehrpfaden und Radfahrwegen genießen. Fünf Hallenbäder, herrliche Seen in der näheren Umgebung und die Ostsee mit ihren vorgelagerten Inseln bieten vielfältige Erholungsmöglichkeiten. Im Winter laden gespurte Loipen und gepflegte Schlittschuhbahnen ein. Die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft zu Helsinki bietet dem Besucher ergänzende kulturelle und sportliche Angebote.

 

 


 

Yuma - USA

An der Grenze von Arizona zu Kalifornien und nur 25 Meilen nördlich von Mexiko entstand Yuma am Zusammenfluss der Flüsse Colorado und Gila. Hier überquerten seit 1540 Europäer den Colorado, entstanden Außenposten und Missionen, schützten Forts die Ansiedlung in Arizona und Neu Mexiko. Yuma war über die Jahrhunderte das Tor zu den neuen westlichen Welten Kaliforniens. Im historischen Museum, auf dem historischen Gefängnisgelände und auf speziellen Touren wird diese bewegte Vergangenheit dargestellt. Flussexkursionen mit dem Jetboot oder mit dem historischen Schaufelraddampfer, Montainbiking oder Goldschürfen - die Freizeitangebote sind vielfältig. Die historische Altstadt lädt ein zum Einkaufsbummel. Das Tagungszentrumist Teil eines weitreichenden Sport- und Freizeitkomplexes mit Golf- und Tennisplätzen und dem Baseballstadion. Die Tourismusregion Yuma ist besonders interessant durch kombinierbare Angebote mit Kalifornien und Mexiko. Große Teile des Bezirkes Yuma sind Wüstengebiet mit felsigen Bergketten. In den Tälern gibt es fruchtbares Ackerland - die Basis erfolgreichen Ackerbaus mit mehreren Ernten pro Jahr - sowie für die Rinderzucht. Industrieparks für die Leicht- und Schwerindustrie, Verwaltungs- und Dienstleistungszentren gewährleisten einen florierenden Handel und den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg der Region Yuma.